Solihin Inducted into the ISCA Hall of Fame

Yan Solihin has just been inducted into the Hall of Fame for the International Symposium on Computer Architecture with the acceptance of his seventh and eighth papers on the subject.

For a number of years, Mark Hill and Guri Sohi of the University of Wisconsin have maintained an informal Hall of Fame for the International Symposium on Computer Architecture, based on the (admittedly imperfect) metric of having co-authored 8 or more papers that have appeared in this premier venue for computer architecture research.

Yan Solihin, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at NC State has just been inducted into those ranks with the acceptance of his seventh and eighth papers at the 45th Symposium in June 2018—”Lazy Persistency: a High-Performing and Write-Efficient Software Persistency Technique” and “Scheduling Page Table Walks for Irregular GPU Applications.”

The International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA) is an annual academic conference on computer architecture, viewed as one of the leading conferences in the field. The Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Computer Architecture (ACM SIGARCH) and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society are technical sponsors.

Stanford, the University of Illinois, the University of Michigan, the University of Washington, and the University of Wisconsin each have 5 members. Microsoft Research has 4. The University of Texas has 3. HP Labs, UC Berkeley, UCSB, and the University of Colorado each have 2. CMU, MIT, and a dozen other institutions each have one. See the list here.

Solihin joined NC State in 2002 and is currently a Program Director at the Division of Computer and Network Systems (CNS) at the National Science Foundation. His responsibilities include managing the Secure and Trustworthy Cyberspace (SaTC), Computer Systems Research (CSR), Scalability and Parallelism in the eXtreme (SPX), NSF/Intel Partnership on Foundational Microarchitecture Research (FoMR) programs, among others. His research has been covered by the IEEE Spectrum, US News, PC World, HPCWire, Slashdot, and others.

Share This