Iqbal Husain

ABB Distinguished Professor Director, FREEDM Center
Iqbal Husain

Dr. Husain joined the ECE department at North Carolina State University as a Distinguished Professor after serving as a faculty member at the University of Akron, Ohio for seventeen years. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Texas A&M University, College Station, TX in 1993.

Dr. Husain’s research interests are in the areas of control and modeling of electrical drives, design of electric machines, development of power conditioning circuits, microinverters for distributed power generation, inverter controls for grid synchronization, and modeling of electric and hybrid vehicle systems. He has worked extensively on the development of SR and PM motor drives for various automotive and industrial applications. The research contributions on electric machines are in the areas of design optimizations, sensorless and high performance controls, acoustic noise prediction, and parameter identification methods.

The primary application of Dr. Husain’s work is in the transportation, automotive, and aerospace industries. As a result of this exposure, Dr. Husain has developed courses for graduate and undergraduate education in electric and hybrid vehicles, and published the textbook Electric and Hybrid Vehicles: Design Fundamentals.


1993 - PhD in Electrical Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
1989 - MS in Electrical Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
1987 - BS in Electrical Engineering, Bangladesh Unviersity of Engineering and Technology, Dhaka, Bangladesh

Highlighted Awards

Awards & Honors

  • 2012-2013 - IEEE-IAS Distinguished Lecturer
  • 2010 - Prize Paper Award, Electric Mahcines, Energy Conversion Congress & Exposition
  • 2009 - IEEE Fellow
  • 2006 - Prize Paper Award, IEEE-IAS Magazine
  • 2006 - SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award
  • 2004 - Outstanding Researcher, College of Engineering, University of Akron
  • 2002 - Prize Paper Award, IEEE - IAS
  • 2000 - IEEE - Third Millenium Medal
  • 1998 - IEEE-IAS Outstanding Young Member Award
  • 1997 - National Science Foundation Career Award
  • 1997, 1992 - Prize Paper Award, IEEE-IAS



 100-24 Keystone Science Center 19
 Campus Box 7911

© NC State University. All rights reserved.

Contact Webmaster  |   Accessibilty   |   Privacy   |   myECE

© NC State University. All rights reserved.