Bhattacharya’s Student Hazra Receives Best Paper Award from IEEE Power Electronics

Dr. Bhattacharya’s former Ph.D. student Dr. Samir Hazra’s paper entitled, “Gate Driver Design Considerations for Silicon Carbide MOSFETs Including Series Connected Devices” was selected for the IEEE PELS TC6 Emerging Technology Best Paper Award.

Dr. Samir Hazra a former Ph.D. student of Dr. Subhashish Bhattacharya, the Duke Energy Distinguished Professor of electrical and computer engineering at NC State has been awarded the IEEE PELS TC6 Emerging Technology Best Paper Award for his paper entitled “Gate Driver Design Considerations for Silicon Carbide MOSFETs Including Series Connected Devices.”

IEEE Power Electronics Society’s High Performance and Emerging Technologies Award is designed to foster the timely dissemination of technical information through small- and large-scale technical events in high-performance and emerging technologies that are high interest to PELS members and students.

The award was given to Hazra and Bhattacharya at the IEEE Energy Conversion Congress & Expo on September 25, 2018, in Portland, Oregon.

ECCE has been a renowned conference on industry applications and power electronics. Recently, there have been many new emerging technologies in power processing, energy storage, and smart control. In order to promote emerging technologies, the Technical Committee on High-Performance and Emerging Technologies (TC6) of the IEEE Power Electronics Society proposed a track, called High-performance and Emerging Technologies Track, in ECCE. The papers—including Dr. Hazra’s submission—associated with this track all have the same theme of emerging technologies.

IEEE Awards recognize and encourage important contributions to technology, science and the profession. They honor achievements in education, industry, research and service, and they encompass the breadth of the many IEEE technical interest areas from computer science, electrical engineering, information technologies and microelectronics, to optoelectronics, radar technologies, signal processing and beyond. Each award has its own unique mission and criteria, and offers the opportunity to honor distinguished colleagues, inspiring teachers and corporate leaders.

The other co-authors of the paper are Dr. Kasunaidu Vechalapu, Dr. Sachin Madhusoodhanan and Dr. Kamalesh Hatua. As one of the founding faculty members at FREEDM System Center, Dr. Bhattacharya’s research focuses on power electronics and power systems including DC Microgrids.

**Editor’s Note**: This article was amended to credit Bhattacharya’s former Ph.D. student, Samir Hazra as the primary author.

Subhashish Bhattacharya

Duke Energy Distinguished Professor
Share This